Recipe: Spicy vegetable couscous

Serves: about 6

(I made a huge batch to sustain my week’s lunches). Another vegetarian dish! I tend to only eat meat for dinner so often my lunches are vegetarian.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups instant couscous
  • 2 cups water/stock/water with stock
  • 2 tablespoons oil (I used my delicious garlic-infused avocado oil).
  • For the vegetable mix: (for the vegies I cut them all into chunks – maybe 2cm x 2cm-ish pieces)
  • 1 medium carrot
  • 1/4 green capsicum (would use at least 1/2 next time, for this serving size)
  • ~10 champignon mushrooms, quartered
  • 1 Roma tomato (I’m not super keen on tomatoes and initially was only making 3 days worth of lunch – would def add at least 3)
  • 9 pitted green olives
  • A handful of frozen peas
  • 210g (half a 420g can) of corn kernels
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon ground coriander seeds
  • 3 big pinches of dried parsley flakes (we didn’t have fresh parsley.. I’d add 1/2 cup of fresh chopped parsley)
  • 1 tablespoon super hot chilli sauce (this was for fun/experimental – I would add more for a bigger kick, I just didn’t want to go overboard in case it didn’t taste so good with the vegetables.. but it did)
  • Salt and pepper to taste.

Method:

  1. For the couscous:
    Bring water/stock to the boil, remove from heat. Add oil and couscous. Stand for about 3 minutes (I put the lid back on the pot so that it can steam/condensate/swell up more). Fluff up with a fork. Sit aside.
  2. Throw all prepared vegetables into a pan on medium heat for about 5-7 minutes until vegetables start to soften (if you’re not lazy like me, I suggest cooking the carrots for 5 min beforehand as they take longer to soften).
  3. Turn down the heat to low. Add in parsley and spices. I carelessly added the spices in, mostly as I was trying to shake them out of the shaker (so my guess of 1 1/2 teaspoons of each may be a bit off, most likely underestimated). Add in chilli sauce, as well as salt/pepper to taste (Add a bit more seasoning than you think is necessary as I couldn’t be bothered to season again at the end, and I had to compensate for the volume of couscous – unless you’re not lazy and will season again at the end).
  4. Add about 1/5-1/4 cup of water. And another slurp of oil. It’s good for the soul. Cook for about another 10 minutes so it goes a bit mushy/stewy.
  5. Refluff couscous. Add to vegetable mix. (You would season here, if you’re not lazy). Stir. Done. Eat/serve (or in my case, put into containers for taking to work).

Notes:

I love that this made up recipe turned out really well. My couscous was light and fluffy without being too stodgy (which has happened to me on numerous occasions).

Plus, after all the ridiculous prepping, it’s quite easy and only requires two pans to cook the whole thing! It’s also a pretty darn cheap dish to make seeing as they’re all pretty standard pantry items. It doesn’t really take all that long to cook either. I had grabbed vegetables from the cupboard/freezer/fridge. I suspect that most vegetables would go quite well in this. Of course, you could (drastically) cut down the volume as serve it as a side dish for some lamb/pork chop/other meat.

Again, another recipe archived and dug up from my Tumblr.  This was strangely another popular post (original post here).

Leave a Reply

