Recipe: Mediterranean chorizo and corn soup

Adapted from “Mediterranean garlic soup”, 200 Super Soups by Sara Lewis. I made this soup way more filling by upping the meat content and adding lots of corn to increase the veggie content (from none). Yay, fibre and protein are your friends!

I freaking love soup. So does my sister. And when she came to visit recently she requested “soup that goes with crusty bread”. Good choice, little sister. Hot soup during 35 deg Brisbane summer weather. Alas, I comply because like I said, I freaking love soup. I also freaking love my sister.

The Chinese believe it’s good to drink/eat warm/hot things even when the weather is hot as it encourages perspiration, which then cools you down. Personally, I’d rather eat ice cream all day. But at least you can use this knowledge when someone looks at you strangely or questions your summer weather-hot soup-drinking habits.

I digress.

Serves: 2 people.

Ingredients:

  • Olive oil
  • 1 medium-sized onion, diced
  • 125g chorizo (that’s about one decent full-sized chorizo)
  • 200g canned/frozen corn kernels (actually, add however much you want, we just really like corn)
  • 4 tablespoons red wine (or however boozy you want to be, but please, drink the wine whilst you’re cooking and then when you finish the soup).
  • 500mL beef stock
  • 2 tablespoons tomato puree (I used tomato sauce, and cut down on the sugar)
  • 1 teaspoon brown sugar (I used 1/2 teaspoon – see above)
  • 2 eggs
  • Salt and pepper
  • Parsley, chopped, to garnish
  • Garlic-infused oil, to drizzle

Method:

  1. Heat olive oil in a large saucepan, add onion and chorizo and fry for a few minutes until onions and chorizo starts to brown. Add corn, wine, stock, tomato puree/sauce and sugar, season with salt and pepper and simmer for 5 minutes on medium-low heat. Do not let boil as that will reduce the soup/make it salty (blergh!).
  2. Reduce the heat to a very gentle simmer (so basically as low as it can go) and drop eggs into the liquid, one at a time, leaving space between them. Poach for 3-4 minutse until whites are set, leave it longer if you don’t like your yolk to be runny. It’ll still semi-cook once you take the soup and eggs out so keep that in mind.
  3. Adjust seasoning with salt and pepper. (Put down the wine, you don’t need to add it, you can drink that later. Besides the wine will make the soup more acidic from the tannins, so no, put it down.) Ladle an egg into each bowl, cover with soup, sprinkle with parsley and drizzle with garlic oil. (I like to use a fork to drizzle as it drips off the prongs and sort of looks nice, plus, I would probably add too much if I pour from the bottle). Serve with lightly toasted garlic ciabatta.

Notes:

Firstly, sorry for the lack of pictures. If you follow me on Twitter, you’ll have noted that I have sent my mobile phone off to repair, again. This soup was really delicious though!

This is a really quick meal that took about 20 minutes to make. If you’re not keen on runny egg yolk, you can boil the egg and quarter it (which is what I did for my fussy-eater sister), or just omit the egg. The addition of more chorizo and corn ups the protein in this soup. To make it a full meal, you could add diced potato (fry first with the onions and chorizo) or pre-soaked red lentils.

To make it a bit more special, I would probably buy corn on the cob and grill/BBQ them to get char-grilled kernels which you can scrap off the cob. Then add to the soup. Even adding some chilli would make a nice kick. I’d do that by adding chilli sauce to the soup (amount depending on how brave you are).

This would be a soup that you’d have most of the ingredients already in the cupboard.

Basically this soup meets my criteria for a mid-week meal: a healthy, balanced meal, quick and easy, cheap.

Leave a Reply

