Recipe: Macerated raspberry upside down coconut cake

Everyone loves a good upside down cake. The classic pineapple upside down cake with sweet caramelised pineapples is a pretty sight and my Dad’s favourite cake! I’ve made quite a few and remember helping my mum bake plenty of these throughout my life!

Here I’ve made a raspberry version and tried to adult it up with alcohol and coconut. Read: I had frozen berries and shredded coconut I wanted to use up and I wanted an excuse to break out alcohol on a Sunday afternoon.

I was getting hurried along to take a photo as my boyfriend was wanting to dig in so excuse the blurry photos!

Makes: 1 large cake, 8 slices

Ingredients:

  • 150g unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup vanilla sugar
  • 3 x 600g eggs
  • 2 1/3 cup self raising flour, sifted
  • 1/3 cup shredded coconut
  • 30mL mandarin juice
  • 1 teaspoon mixed spice
  • 3 x 30mL Cointreau
  • 3 teaspoons sugar
  • 3/4 cup frozen berries
  • Icing sugar, to dust

Method:

  1. Set oven to 180°C. Grease a cake tin. I used a 25 cm square tin.
  2. Soak berries for at least 30 minutes or until needed (whichever is longer) in Cointreau and sugar.
  3. Cream butter and sugar together until pale. Add eggs and mix.
  4. Strain berries well and set aside. Stir reserved alcoholic sugary juice and mandarin juice into cake mixture.
  5. Fold in flour in batches, mix to just combine each time. Fold in coconut and mixed spice with the last of the flour.
  6. Scatter berries at the bottom of the tin. Spread them out and try to declump berries as much as possible. Fill tin with cake mixture over the berries.
  7. Bake in the oven for 35 minutes (give or take 5 minutes). Once baked, allow to cool in the pan until cool enough to handle.
  8. Now the fun part – flip upside down onto a rack! Dust with icing sugar. Serve warm with ice cream.

Notes:

I really liked that upside down cakes always look amazing. And that you don’t have to cover it up with fancy icing or decorating items. This recipe makes a really simple cake that’s moist, light and fluffy. This would be a nice tea cake as it’s not very rich.  Super easy and didn’t take long to make at all.

The middle of my cake rose up in the middle quite a fair bit. I guess you can always cut it off to make it flat when you flip it upside down. I cheated – and hate to waste cake! – so I flipped it onto a plate which has enough of a curve in the middle to make it appear flat on top! Woohoo!

I was debating whether to dust the cake with icing sugar or cinnamon sugar.  I imagine cinnamon sugar would be just as delicious, mostly because of the cinnamon and the sugar parts 😉

Or some sort of berry syrup. A cheat version for a quick berry syrup is heating up some jam (any berry variety!) with some water and then drizzle over the cake!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

