How to make whipped coconut cream

Coconut cream is the fatty cream from coconuts that acts like dairy cream and is a good alternative for vegans and those who can’t handle dairy.

I had also been playing around with the idea of whipped coconut cream after a few Twitter friends were discussing it and their failures. So I gave it a try! It was a success!

What is the difference between coconut cream and milk?

Coconut milk is a puree or emulsion of coconut meat with water. The fat is then strained out. This has a liquid consistency.

Coconut cream has a higher coconut to water ratio. If the can is left unshaken, the clear liquid is coconut water.

If you were to make it yourself, you would boil coconut with water and squeeze out the liquid. This would be the coconut milk. The coconut cream is the byproduct of when the milk separates from the coconut water. This has a thick, paste-like consistency.

A few friends/blogs use different brands as some vary on the actual content of coconut cream. I used Pandaroo which I picked up for cheap from an Asian supermarket. I know they have this brand at major supermarkets but I’m not sure if they stock Pandaroo coconut cream.

How to whip coconut cream:

A lot of blogs out there try to make it sound like a technical feat. They all have one thing correct – it has to be cold.

Keep the can in the fridge at least overnight. You could get around this by always keeping a can of coconut cream in the fridge.

Some ask for you to separate the solid cream from the coconut water. This would be like trying to whip butter. All you would be able to create is a more spreadable form of what you began with. I think the liquid helps in being able to aerate it. Cream in its dairy version is a liquid with fats in it. I had planned to attempt this with the entire contents of the can to emulate the typical situation to whip cream.

Funnily enough, the can that I used didn’t have much clear coconut water as I scooped out the cream. It was also about 3/4 solid coconut cream so I just added it all including the tiny amount of coconut water.

I put it into a stainless steel bowl which sat in a larger stainless steel bowl filled with some ice to keep everything chilled.

Then I whipped. And whippped and whiiiiipped. I like the workout from using a hand whisk but definitely using an electric whisk would be ideal. Not included breaks, I probably whippped for at least 5 minutes.

I added in about 1/2 cup of soft icing mixture as a stabiliser to help the cream hold it’s shape.

It appeared to hold its shape for quite some time but not indefinitely. However, it would never be thick enough to pipe. The best I could do was a thick paste that would not spill. Good enough for decorating my cupcakes! Hooray!

I actually made these way ahead of the cupcakes in the event that this wouldn’t work. Keep the whole mixture cold and put in the fridge until you are ready to use it.

In most cases, you would want to make this as close as to when you actually need it.

Re-whip coconut cream just before you use it as it will settle slightly.

Good luck! 🙂

5 thoughts on “How to make whipped coconut cream

  1. I attempted this last weekend but even though I put the tin of coconut milk in the fridge for more than 24 hours, it didn’t separate. Not sure what went wrong, but will try it again in case it was the brand of coconut milk I bought…

    Like

  2. Pingback: Recipe: Sweet corn and coconut cupcakes (corny cupcakes!) | Eating my way through life.

Leave a Reply

