Recipe: Vindaloo sweet potato and eggplant curry

Meatfree Monday is a regular thing that I do every week. I started off periodically towards the end of last year and it’s progressed into a fixed routine that I set for myself (and Nic, on his behalf haha!).

Many people agree that we all consume way more meat than we should.

I’ve never been a big meat-eater although I do enjoy meat. I could never become vegetarian. I think it’s fine to eat meat as long as you try to aim for higher welfare, sustainable, ethical meat. At the same time, not over-consuming more than necessary.

Part of keeping with this sustainability means that I try to include more vegetarian and vegan dishes in my diet. Meatfree Monday means that I challenge myself to ensure that I help in this way. It also means that I start off the week with a huge boost of vegetables. It counteracts some nights when I don’t eat very well!

Tonight’s dinner was Indian-inspired. Lots of Indian dishes are vegan and vegetarian. Plus, you never have to sacrifice on flavour and it’s super easy!

Serves: 3

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cup sweet potato, peeled and diced into 1cm-ish cubes
  • 3/4 cup eggplant, diced
  • 1 cup lentils, soaked and drained
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 tbs minced garlic
  • 1 tsp minced ginger
  • 1 x 400 g canned diced tomatoes
  • 2 tbs vindaloo spice mix
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • Dried chilli flakes, optional
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Method:

  1. Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add onions and cook until translucent.
  2. Add spices as well as ginger and garlic. I like my curries hot so I added about 2 tsp of dried chilli flakes. Cook for 2 minutes, mixing continuously to prevent burning.
  3. Add sweet potato and eggplant. Mix well until all ingredients are well coated in spices.
  4. Add in lentils and canned tomatoes as well as 1 1/2 cans of water. Season with salt and pepper. Bring to the boil and then turn down to simmer for at least 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  5. You can cook this longer if you prefer it to be less soupy. Serve hot!

Notes:

Serve either with plain rice or pilaf (rice cooked with onions and stock). Alternatively, you can serve on its own with bread or wraps as I have. It’s quite a filling curry as it is already bulked out with lentils and sweet potato!

Curries are great overnight and freeze fantastically too. Double the portions and freeze the rest for lazy night dinners.

Happy #meatfreemonday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

