Tomahawk Bar

Secret: The first time I went to Tomahawk Bar was actually a selfish suggestion I made to meet up with some out-of-towners.

I had been wanting to visit the replacement of one of my favourite restaurants, Piaf – a cute, affordable and consistently good French bistro. I was sad the day that they closed down. And I made a vow that it’s replacement had better be good or else.. (non-threat, I wouldn’t do anything).

Apple Cider ($20).

We met up for a late afternoon drink and I got the largest cider I could see – Willie Smith’s bone dry apple cider($20). Much heavier than I anticipated at 6.8% ABV! It was dry and tart. I really enjoyed this cider. I also nibbled on my hopcorn chicken whilst I looked on enviously at my company’s meals – meatballs and the lamb ribs. I found my option great for novelty points but it was far too rich, too salty, too sweet. My new Adelaide friend, @BenSciGuy, declared his lamb ribs as possibly the best he’s ever had! Success! I take pride in taking (and recommending) people to good places.

The drink range is vast. As the only craft beer bar in South Bank, it’s a really refreshing change from the cocktail-orientated and wine bars surrounding it. And the pubs. Drinks here aren’t cheap but you are paying for craft beer. There’s a pretty good range of drinks to suit most budgets though.

Green Beacon Penny Porter (large)

Upon my second visit on a casual Sunday afternoon, I had a little more time to peruse the menu. The menu here is simple with clearly defined items. No time for mucking about here. There’s a few interesting twists in that nearly all the food items contain beer!

The food is very reasonably priced too with snacks and bites starting from $7.

We ordered the hopcorn chicken which seems to be a crowd favourite, however I found the chicken overly salty and the caramel sauce far too thick and sweet. And I’ve had this twice now. It hasn’t won me over yet. Third time lucky? I’m dubious. Possibly better as an option for sharing and not as a complete serving for one person – it’s just far too rich to make it to the end. Or perhaps washing down with beer is the idea.

Luckily, the shoestring fries were perfect. Crunchy, crispy, salty with a touch of thyme. No limpy, miserable fries. No faults here at all.

The fish chip butty was excellent and I would happily order that again! It featured two generously fat fish sticks on smashed fresh peas, mint, basic and a red ale chilli jam on a deliciously soft white bap roll. I’m a fan of fresh peas! The bun appeared to have been drizzled with olive oil on top which was weird and just made my hands oily. Excellent value at $10! A satisfying burger on it’s own. Perfect to fill you up when you’re hungry but want to save space for multiple beers.

I improved it by creating my own chip butty for extra crunch!

Easily my new favourite place for late afternoon/weekend beers and food in South Bank. A worthy substitute to Piaf.

I know a few of my friends (of whom I trust their food and beer judgement) that live nearby are all big fans too. It’s almost their second home!

Tomahawk Bar
Tuesday – Wednesday: 11am to 10pm
Thursday: 11am to 11pm
Friday – Saturday: 11am to midnight
Sunday: 11am to 10pm
5/182 Grey Street, South Bank
http://www.tomahawkbar.com.au/

Tomahawk Bar on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

