Kettle and Tin

Paddington is an unexplored area for a south sider like myself. It’s not like I have anything against the other side of the city, I just never find myself out that way.

We recently ended up on this side of town as a side trip from Umart (where Nic was buying MORE computer things!).

I really like this converted house that has a patio out the front and opens out to the inside of the restaurant with lots of glass French windows and wooden floorboards. It has a lovely al fresco vibe whilst retaining that Queenslander touch. I wish a place like this existed on the south side. Crosstown Eating House comes close in similiar style/size although Kettle and Tin is a lot more modern.

As usual, Nic picks the cheeseburger called “Royale with cheese”. He found it the chuck beef patty juicy but way too salty. Stealing a few bites, I couldn’t have agreed more. A shame, really. The fat chips funnily enough didn’t have enough salt. The burger featured house made ketchup and mustard. Bonus points here! Fantastic value to get a quality, from-scratch burger and chips for just $16.

My lunch option was a simple rasher bacon (and egg) panini. A little disappointing to receive only one egg. The presentation with the top bun placed off kilter looked weird. It’s a sandwich. Don’t make me assemble it myself. Still, it was good. The bread was toasted, there was a runny yolk fried egg, a thick slab of swiss cheese and HP sauce. Sometimes simple is best. Although compared to the burger, $14 for the panini was a little disappointing.

I’m a fan of milkshakes and I couldn’t go past the peanut butter chocolate milkshake and I’m glad I didn’t. For $6, you get a humongous milkshake that’s enough for two. Slightly thickened by the peanut butter, this milkshake was salty and sweet and damn well tasty. Liquified dessert. Yes, please!

Kettle and Tin is open for dinner and I’d really love to come here at night. I can see why it’s popular with locals.

Menu

 

Dining details: Late Saturday lunch for two, around 3pm.

The verdict: Casual, relaxed dining with good quality food at good prices in a fairly central location. Tick, tick, tick. Great for groups, dates or even a quick solo bite. And they’re dog-friendly!

This restaurant wins the award for: inner north cheap eats!

Kettle and Tin
Monday: 7am to 5pm
Tuesday – Sunday: 7am to late
215 Given Terrace, Paddington
http://kettleandtin.com.au/

The Kettle & Tin on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

